Skip to main content
Case update 25 July 2019

Roll of honour: our legal action to stop the suspension of Parliament

You will have seen how the Good Law Project, alongside a cross-party group of politicians, has launched legal action to prevent Prime Minister Boris Johnson from suspending Parliament. He has threatened to suspend Parliament to force through a No Deal Brexit – but that’s not how democracy works. It is for Parliament to decide what happens with Brexit.

We are very pleased to announce that more politicians have joined the cause. Here is the latest list of petitioners:

In the House of Commons:

Good Law Project is powered by people across the UKDonate now

– Debbie Abrahams (Labour)

– Rushanara Ali (Labour)

– Heidi Allen (Ind)

– Tonia Antoniazzi (Labour)

– Hannah Bardell (SNP)

– Ben Bradshaw (Labour)

– Tom Brake (LD)

– Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour)

– Karen Buck (Labour)

– Ruth Cadbury (Labour)

– Joanna Cherry (SNP)

– Ronnie Cowan (SNP)

– Neil Coyle (Labour)

– Stella Creasy (Labour)

– Wayne David (Labour)

– Geraint Davies (Labour)

– Marsha de Cordova (Labour)

– Emma Dent Coad (Labour)

– Stephen Doughty (Labour)

– Rosie Duffield (Labour)

– Jonathan Edwards (PC)

– Paul Farrelly (Labour)

– James Frith (Labour)

– Ruth George (Labour)

– Stephen Gethins (SNP)

– Preet Gill (Labour Co-op)

– Patrick Grady (SNP)

– Kate Green (Labour)

– Lilian Greenwood (Labour)

– John Grogan (Labour)

– Helen Hayes (Labour)

– Wera Hobhouse (LD)

– Margaret Hodge (Labour)

– Rupa Huq (Labour)

– Ruth Jones (Labour)

– Ged Killen (Labour Co-op)

– Peter Kyle (Labour)

– Ben Lake (PC)

– David Lammy (Labour)

– Clive Lewis (Labour)

– Kerry McCarthy (Labour)

– Stuart McDonald (SNP)

– Anna McMorrin (Labour)

– Carol Monaghan (SNP)

– Madeleine Moon (Labour)

– Layla Moran (LD)

– Ian Murray (Labour)

– Jess Phillips (Labour)

– Lloyd Russell-Moyle (Labour Co-op)

– Liz Saville-Roberts (PC)

– Tommy Sheppard (SNP)

– Andrew Slaughter (Labour)

– Angela Smith (Ind)

– Owen Smith (Labour)

– Chris Stephens (SNP)

– Jo Stevens (Labour)

– Wes Streeting (Labour)

– Paul Sweeney (Labour)

– Jo Swinson (LD)

– Alison Thewliss (SNP)

– Gareth Thomas (Labour Co-op)

– Stephen Timms (Labour)

– Anna Turley (Labour)

– Catherine West (Labour)

– Matt Western (Labour)

– Martin Whitfield (Labour)

– Philippa Whitford (SNP)

– Hywel Williams (PC)

– Paul Williams (Labour)

– Daniel Zeichner (Labour)

In the House of Lords:

– Lord Hain of Neath

– Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb

– Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

– Lord Winston of Hammersmith

– Lord Wood of Anfield

We expect further MPs and Peers to join us shortly. And we expect formally to file proceedings on Monday.

We are very grateful to those who have contributed to our crowdfunder, which you can find here.